Welcome to Study Abroad

‘Life is short and the world is wide’ – Unknown

After months of planning, filling in applications, going through a huge lengthy process and just all around high stress levels I am finally all settled into my new home in Japan. I officially moved into my dorm room yesterday and it’s lovely. I have a room that is overlooking the railway line which is really cool and we are in an area that seems to be close to everything. Of course my one downside is that my sleep pattern is super messed up and I’m now waking up at 4am haha.

So I left the UK on Wednesday 22nd and flew to Hong Kong and then from the headed onto Tokyo. I flew with Cathay Pacific and I can safely say that I would fly with them again, the service was fantastic, the seats were comfortable and considering the journey was nearly 12 hours it seemed to fly by (excuse the accidental pun). Not going to lie I was nervous about arriving at both airports but I managed to make my way around pretty easily with a little bit of help and pre planning.

On I arrival I made my way to my hotel (Narita Airport Rest House) and stay for the night before heading back to arrivals in the morning to pick up my friend who I’m studying with. At the hotel I was given a kimono for the night which was really nice and so comfy – I’m definitely investing in one whilst I’m out here. In the morning I headed back to arrivals on the free shuttle that the hotel runs and then when I met Morena we brought bus tickets to our accommodation (Airport Limousine Bus  – 3100 yen one way) where we were met by two volunteer students that’s would show us to our accommodation.

Our accommodation right round the corner from Asakadai train station and is really close to the shops. My room is a good size with everything that I need and I was able to unpack fairly quickly. Some of the students who had shown us around the building were able to show us where the shop was and so we were able to pick up the basics that we would need whilst we are out here.

It’s super sunny here but also really cold so my body really isn’t sure what’s going on but oh my it’s good to see some sun haha. Luckily I have really good internet and I have managed to hotspot my laptop so I am able to upload my photos from my phone and update friends and family back home. Speaking of which I always forget how hard it is to say goodbye.

I’m blessed that I have such an amazing relationship with my mum but it makes it so hard to leave. She is my mum, my dad, my best friend, role model and singing partner all rolled into one. I said to myself that I wouldn’t cry but of course I did haha. My mum and one of my best friends are coming out to visit me in May so I’m so lucky to be able to share this experience with them.

I can’t believe I’m finally here and having this experience but I just have this feeling that this is going to have such a huge impact on me that I’m going to throw myself into every aspect on the journey. Make sure to check out my Instagram page @theworldaccordingtotaz for all of my pictures which I shall try to update daily.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Until next time

Tasmin

Leave a comment