Off the beaten track…

Travel far enough that you meet yourself – Anon

If you look at all of the guide books of Japan and Tokyo then you will find all of the popular must see sights…but do you ever stop and wonder where all of the hidden gems are?

Well on Saturday a friend and I stumbled across heaven on earth.

https://www.google.com/maps/embed?pb=!1m18!1m12!1m3!1d3261.848817898004!2d139.83868071524455!3d35.16039098031897!2m3!1f0!2f0!3f0!3m2!1i1024!2i768!4f13.1!3m3!1m2!1s0x60181b26e686b0ef%3A0xc258c596637b9320!2sMount+Nokogiri!5e0!3m2!1sen!2suk!4v1496669423964&w=600&h=450]

Mount Nokogiri is a mountain on the Bōsō Peninsula in Honshu, Japan. Home to beautiful sights, hidden treasures and so many stairs that you will question your sanity in the heat. Many believe that Kamakura is home to the biggest Buddha statue in Japan and I was one of them until I stood corrected in front of the monumental size of Daibutsu (great Buddha).  What amazed me even more was that there was hardly any tourists and it was so unbelievably quiet.

So we started the day with a 3 hour journey from Asakadai to Hama-Kanaya Station which we passed by sharing stories from our home countries and talking endlessly like typical girls. On arrival we knew we were in a completely different place from the smell of the air and the unfamiliar silence that we had forgotten for the last two months. We walked along the beach shore and up to the ropeway that would take us up the mountain. Ropeways are amazingly fun and the views are incredible but unfortunately I get travel sick. But on the other hand the journey is only 500 Yen and a short ride and so it is totally worth the shakiness ha-ha. I also took the opportunity to play about with hyper lapse function on my phone and took a video of the journey which I shall post a link to.

Once at the top you feel the relief of being on stable ground and then you set eyes on the breath taking view. It’s safe to say that I’m not often speechless and the most recent time that I was so astounded by natural beauty was The Grand Canyon but this is a very close second. I expected a good view because I had looked at pictures before arrival but this exceeded my expectations by miles. This well and truly proved that point that pictures are all well and good but they are nothing compared to the experience first-hand. This is where I stop tell…no urge you all to go and get out of your comfort zone, go and explore every country that you have the opportunity to.

Every corner that you turn and every new path that you take will lead to a new view point. The amount of photos that were taken is endless and it quickly ate up my battery so my advice would be to either bring a camera or if like me your rely on your phone then invest in a power bank which I plan on doing as I didn’t get to take all of the photos that I wanted to. Along with the photos that are included on this post I shall also be posting photos from the trip on Facebook and Instagram as normal, you can check these out by searching @theworldaccordingtotaz (insta), The world according to taz (FB).

Mount Nokogiri is home to Jigoku Nozoki (view of Hell) which is a view point that looks out across Tokyo Bay and on a clear day visitors are able to see Mt Fuji. There is much more to see whilst here including The Great Buddha, the wall of Laputa and Hyakushaku Kannon to name a few. We managed to time the trip rather well as on that day it was only 26 degrees but with a cool breeze. Due to all of the steps and the up and down of the trails you work up a sweat rather easily and so this is definitely a trip that is better saved for a cooler day but still take the sun cream anyway as we caught the sun. There are many maps and guides provided around the grounds and entrance to the main area is 600 Yen with a guide/map included.  On the way back down we decided to hike down the mountain which was fun but rather steep so make sure you where hiking boots or sneakers with good ankle support.

It’s so hard to put into words how amazing this place is so I’m just going to leave you with a lot of photos.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Also I would like to say a huge thank you to everyone who reached out to me after my last blog post, the love and support that I received was overwhelming. I’m actively trying to make myself happy every single day and the above is one of the many ways in which I’m learning to love every aspect of my life again.

Until next time

Tasmin

P.S.

Underneath is a link to my friend’s vlog on our adventure on Saturday so you can see a different take on it. This best watched from a laptop but also if it doesn’t work then it could be down to country licencing rights. Hope it works out for you and check out some of her other videos.

 

Leave a Reply

