Tips for applying to work at a summer camp!

There are many different companies that provide opportunities to work at a summer camp stateside and each have their own different application process. But when it comes down to it the camp directors will all be looking for the same qualities in their future staff and so here is the low down!

Personally I worked with Camp America but I do have friends who have worked with various other companies. These companies were built to help you make the most of your skills and get the job of a lifetime. Just keep in mind that they are there to help you and to make the most of the resources that they provide.

Remember it’s a job and not a holiday –

I know I’m going to sound like a mum when I say this but mine did remind me of this when I was applying for the best summer ever. 3 months in the states sounds like magic and trust me it is, but it is also a challenging full time summer job that requires a lot from you. treat this application as your dream job and everything has to be perfect (lets face it – its the dream job) so make sure to triple check!

Be flexible –

There are many different types of camps in the states from Co-ed to Jewish to YMCA and on top of that every camp will have a different requirement for their start and end date. My first year I wasn’t able to be as flexible with dates as I wanted to be due to my college term times but I was flexible with my choice of camps. I was placed at a YMCA camp in California starting in June until August which was ideal. Remember the more flexible you are then the more camps you are open to and the more chance you have of being hired.

Make it clear how passionate you are –

Passion drives everything in life and that’s what you need to do a job like this. Show passion in every aspect of your application from your skills through to your answers on your written questions. No one can tell you what to write but its important to know how to write it. Make sure all of your grammar and written skills are perfect, get friends and family to check as they will pick up what your tired eyes wont and most of all be yourself, let your personality shine through.

Make sure you show off your skills –

There are so may people that go for these jobs every year and your skills are what sets you apart from the rest. I was hired based on my water sports skills and lifeguarding but every camp will be looking for something different. Make sure to empathise the level of experience that you have had through your skill or hobby and make it work for you. you need to be honest but you are also selling yourself to a future employer.

Make sure that your photos show you in your best light –

Your photos need to show you clearly ( so no group pictures where its a game of guess who is you) and they need to show you performing one of the skills or hobbies that you have included in the application. They need to show you in your element and in a good light. Your photos are what will show you off and act as proof of what you have stated beforehand.

Clean up your social media –

Everyone seems to have some form of social media and it is so important that it shows you in your best light. No future employee wants to check an applicants social media and see photos of drinking, drugs and irresponsible behaviour. Camp directors want someone who is going to be a role model to their campers and inspire them to be the best that they can be. If you wouldn’t want your grandma seeing it then it shouldn’t be on your profile. Make sure that your feeds show you in your best light and include your hobbies and skills in a subtle way.

Make a video that will wow –

I’ll be honest I had no idea what I was doing when I made my video for my application but I muddled my way through. If I was to do it again I would bring in the big guns and ask for help from friends or family that have a bit more of a clue about the whole idea. My video is rough but it is still on YouTube so I shall include a link. Whilst you are at it have a look at other Applicant video for some ideas. Try and make your video stand out from the crowd.

If you have any questions then feel free to leave a comment or contact me through any of my social media pages as I am more than happy to answer.

My applicant video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xWnGKcmsTQ8

(If the link does not appear then please copy and paste the link into your search engine)

Until next time

Tasmin

Leave a Reply

