Travelling – are you avoiding reality or is your reality just different?

‘We travel, some of us forever, to seek other states, other lives, other souls’  -Anon

I think I was 17 when I realised that I had a passion for travelling and at that age people just assumed  that I liked going on holiday…the thing is it’s so much more than that.

As I’ve mentioned before some people travel to escape but for some people its more than that, it’s a way of life. I travel to explore new places, meet new people and try every new experience that comes my way. It’s not an escape for me, its just the way I chose to live my life.

In 3 and a half weeks I’m setting off for my next adventure. I’m not going to Japan to escape university in England, I am going because I have the opportunity to study at a private university in a different country. For most, university is a right of passage and the next step in your career, for me I chose my university based upon the opportunities to study abroad and take a placement year abroad. I see Japan as a way to study in a new environment and experience how other countries learn. This will also improve my resume and impression upon potential employers.

My reality is that my passion for travelling is unlike any other passion that I have had, it runs through my veins and fuels my daily life. I constantly think about where I want to go next, if I’m not planning my next trip then I’m reading about new destinations or reading other people’s experiences. For some people their passion is a sport or their career or art for example, why shouldn’t mine be travelling? I want to pursue a career within travel and so I want as much experience of destinations and areas of the industry as possible.

My current reading list:

Lonely Planet’s Ultimate Travel List

Lonely Planet’s guide to travel writing

Off Track Planet’s travel guide for the young, sexy and broke

The Lonely Bones – Alice Sebold

People travel for many different reasons and in many different ways but mine is because its my one true love and I want to do it as much as I possibly can. I want to know all of your opinions and why you decide to travel, so either leave a comment below or contact me through my various forms of social media – links are on the contact page.

Also if anyone has any suggestions for posts that I can do then please let me know as I’m still trying to figure out what to write about! All suggestions and ideas are welcome.

Until next time

Tasmin

Leave a Reply

