Research – Informative, Scary or Both?

‘I always wonder why the birds stay in the same place when they can fly anywhere on earth. Then I ask myself the same question’ – Harun Yahya

Benjamin Franklin talks a lot of sense in the well known saying ‘By failing to prepare, you are preparing to fail’ and I always research a destination or experience beforehand. This being said sometimes too much research can be overwhelming and scary. The internet can be a wonderful place with knowledge at your fingertips but it is also a place where people go to slate companies/destinations/ people so how are you to know who is telling the truth?

In four weeks I shall embark on my biggest adventure yet, four months studying in Tokyo. Considering how different this country is to my home country I have been doing a lot of research. I have learnt so many interesting facts about the culture and history of the country but I have also read things that have put me on edge due to either personal reasons or fear of forgetting something and offending someone. I am very lucky in the fact that I am going with two fellow uni students and we can muddle through it altogether but end of the day new experiences can be a little scary but that’s okay.

Every time I take on a new challenge I go through a period when I freak out but once its over I feel like I can take on the world and I come out more excited for what’s to come. So far I have remained very neutral about Japan but what with embassy appointments, welcome packs and x-rays for entry it is all a bit all over the place and I don’t have time to think about it. If you are like me and a natural born worrier then my tips are:

  1. Keep busy – go out with friends, take part in a sport, read, spend time with family…
  2. Talk – family, friends, even your boss…make use of the network around you and talk about what is worrying you.
  3. Take a break from the research and give your brain sometime to process what information it already has and then it will be ready to take in more without being overwhelmed.

Of course these are things that work for me but might not work for everyone.

To make everything seem a little bit more real I had my chest x-ray on Monday which is part of my visa requirement and I also booked my flights. So for my x-ray I had to go private and have a referral from my GP and overall it cost me £150. My flights were not so simple, I have been looking at flights for months and the prices have only been cheap through 3rd party sights which I don’t feel comfortable booking through for this particular trip. On a last minute whim I tried going through Cathay Pacific one more time and going through every flight option and finally found flights for £577 which is an amazing price. One of the greatest feelings in life is seeing that you have booked a flight to a new and exciting destination.

Meanwhile I’m still trying to figure out my blogging style and contents so please be patient with me but the feedback I have had so far has been amazing and I’m so grateful. As always check out my social media (links on contacts page).

****Special side note: My friend and Ray of sunshine interviewed me for her blog this week so please go check it out and give here a follow!

https://onceastudentblog.wordpress.com/

Until next time – Tasmin

 

 

Leave a Reply

